Kings Square Revealed

Our March meeting will focus on the recent archaeological digs at Kings Square and what was found.

Sometimes archaeological work poses more questions than answers. It can also challenge information found in the written record creating interesting debates between archaeologists and historians. The historical record is always the winner. To learn more about the process and the recent finds join us at our March meeting where Fiona Hook of Archae-Aus will explain the approach they took to the digs, the evidence they found and give us an analysis of those findings.

Tuesday 27 March, 6.00pm. Meeting Room, Library Offices

Yesterday’s Heroes

My name is Chris Carmody and I have just written and had published a book called “Yesterday’s Heroes” : Fremantle’s Footballers and Wharfies in the Golden Years.  It is essentially about the effect that the East Fremantle and South Fremantle footballers, the wharfies and the pubs had on the social fabric of Fremantle. Some stories covered the years just before WW2 with most of them covering the first couple of decades straight after the war. Over 30 people were interviewed for the project including high-profile footballers from both teams, wharfies and Fremantle luminaries such as JJ Miller.  Lots of interesting yarns which I thought will give people an insight into the way people led their lives during those time.

The book was launched at the South Fremantle Football Club social rooms ( now called the Fremantle Function Centre), inside Fremantle Oval at 5 30pm on Friday 9 March. Rick Hart, former president of the Fremantle Dockers launched it.

I have sent you some attachments with this email that will give you further details.  You are invited to share them with other members of your organisation.

The book is published by Round House Press.

See attachment for details if you wish to purchase a copy

Thank you


Chris Carmody


Home:  08 94464527

Mobile:  0409371674

Fremantle Herald Article 26.2.18

Yesterday’s Heroes Facebook Page:

Yesterday’s Heroes Enquiries:

Publishing Firm:


Margaret Medcalf Award

Since 2003, 16 researchers and historians, creating works on various Western Australian subjects, have won the Margaret Medcalf Award. Recognizing excellence in referencing and research using State Archives held by the State Records Office of Western Australia (SRO), the award honours Miss Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia. The winner receives a cash prize of $1000, or shares this prize if there is more than one winner. Works nominated must demonstrate accurate referencing and use of State archives.

Any work completed or published in 2017 is eligible to be submitted for nomination, and anyone, including the author of the work, may submit a nomination. Unlike book awards, nominated works need not be published, and may include student dissertations and theses. They may be fiction or non-fiction, and be presented in any media.

To submit a nominated work please complete a 2018 Margaret Medcalf Award Nomination Form and send it along with 3 copies of nominated works to the SRO at the address provided below. If published online please provide a web link. Completed nomination forms may also be emailed. One copy of nominated and winning works will be retained permanently by the SRO.

The judging criteria for the Award are:

  • Level of use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Proficient and consistent use of referencing;
  • Level of contribution to knowledge (historical, cultural, heritage, etc.);
  • Original use of the State Archives Collection;
  • Presentation.

For further details including more information about the judging criteria for the Award, see or contact Gerard Foley at the SRO by email or by phone on (08) 9427 3641.

Nominations for the 2018 Margaret Medcalf Award should be addressed to:

The State Archivist
State Records Office of WA
Alexander Library Building
Perth Cultural Centre
Perth, WA 6000.

Completed nomination forms and 3 copies of the works must be received by 4pm Friday, 6 April 2017.

Emeritus Professor Jenny Gregory AM FRHS MPHA M.ICOMOS
President, History Council of Western Australia

Margaret Medcalf Award nomination form_2018